Well, hello there, Prince Alarming

January 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

“I’ve been dying to tell you anything you want to hear, ’cause that’s just who I am this week”
– Sugar, We’re Going Down, Fall Out Boy

We’ve all been that girl, the one who is flattered when someone remotely good looking and interesting pays us any attention. I just seem to be that girl more often than most.

The most recent, and still ongoing, fiasco in the comedy of errors that is my life is this game of seesaw I seem to be unwillingly playing with Rhett Butler.

Let me tell you about Rhett, who can stand in for everyone I’ve encountered in the past 5 years. I sit quietly in my corner, hoping to God the world would just forget me and leave me alone. Then along comes Rhett, acting sincerely interested and seeking me out at the expense of his own convenience. And I’ll be like, I’ve done this dance before and I know all the steps. It always leads to me, on the floor, in the fetal position, all alone. But before I know it, Rhett has planted himself firmly into every aspect of my life and there’s just no way of ignoring him anymore. So I do the dance, and sure enough, here I am on the floor again. One minute he wants me and wants me to disappear in the next.

Now I get tired of these things. Four-inch heels are not the best shoes for dancing, so I’ve practically begged him to leave me alone. But no. This one’s not going gently into the night. He’s under the impression that I believed we were friends in the first place. Sometimes I miss all the attention but most times I wish he would just go away and leave me in the cold, dark corner I’ve made for myself. I’ll go with this for a while longer and make a decision when it’s Restraining Order time.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Well, hello there, Prince Alarming at Lee sew junkie.

meta

