Goodbye, old friends

February 10, 2010 § 2 Comments


A friend told me today she would rather miss meals than part with her books. I thought I was made of hardier stuff but now faced with having to inventory them, ready for shipping to new owners, I must admit something in me feels like it’s dying. I have never been without a book since I learned to read. My parents were hippies and kinda lackadaisical about my education so I didn’t learn to read till I was 5. But there were always books about and my father was an avid reader himself so asking him for a full set of books was never a problem. I was 6 when I read the entire Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys series and 7 when all that was available at home were Dick Francis and Sydney Sheldon. At that point in time, no one really cared about parental guidance labels so I read whatever was lying around. I’ve been quite the nomad but everywhere I went I always accumulated books. I remember moving back home after college with only a backpack full of clothes but 50kg worth of books. But this is my year of tectonic-plate moving change and finally . . . (cringe) growing up, manning up really to face more practical matters and preparing for the future. They say the first step is always the hardest and nowhere is that more true than in this case. Books, this doesn’t mean that I love you any less. But in letting you go, I’m loving myself too. So goodbye. I’ll make sure you get into great new homes.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Goodbye, old friends

  • meg says:

    Goodbye Lee's books… I hope you will be more loved and read but not so dog-eared.

  • sandy says:

    I remember the balikbayan box full of books i had shipped from Boston.I've been running(mentally) the list of books i have. My heart is breaking if i have to part with my SEP, and Linda Howard books. 😦

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goodbye, old friends at Lee sew junkie.

meta

