The woman who told us it was fun to be 30 and single

February 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

I must admit I didn’t know who Candace Bushnell was until a friend gave me her copy of Sex in the City. Till then, I only knew there was this TV series about 30-somethings living it up in New York. I couldn’t really relate to her characters at that time – they were all too worldly and sophisticated for this young girl from the islands. But as I grew older and the frequency of being asked “Why aren’t you married yet?” increased, I began to appreciate their lifestyle. Yes, it’s okay to talk openly about wanting sex. And yes, I am over 30, single and making my own way in the world. And more importantly, yes, my friends trump guys any time, anywhere.

These books are not for the fainthearted. If you’re expecting clear cut love stories with happy endings, these are not for you. But if you know and understand that a girl’s life is complicated and relationships are more emotional landmines than beds of roses, then by all means, take these off our hands.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The woman who told us it was fun to be 30 and single at Lee sew junkie.

meta

