The white ninja

February 12, 2010 § Leave a comment


I have a confession to make. I stopped reading children’s fiction when I became an adult and only rediscovered it through . . . uhm . . . er . . . the Harry Potter series. But this was one trilogy I could not resist when I came upon it on one of my decompression sessions at a local bookstore. Anything martial arts has always caught my fancy, but a trilogy about feuding ninja clans was just pure wish fulfillment. Lian Hearn is the pseudonym of Gillian Rubinstein, an Australian children’s author and playwright (I love you, Wikipedia). I got these books about 4 years ago and the trilogy has since expanded to a . . . I don’t know what the term for a 5-book series is, but that’s what it turned out to be. It all happens in this fictional island based on feudal Japan and as I mentioned, it’s about ninjan clans battling it out, swords, ninja stars, smoke bombs and all. Very very entertaining. It’s not exactly world-renowned like Harry Potter, but in the young warrior Takeo, we find a protagonist who actually deserves the literary title of “hero.”

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The white ninja at Lee sew junkie.

meta

