What dreams may come

March 1, 2010 § Leave a comment


I’ve always been fascinated by mythologies of the world. They reflect the psyche that made us who we are today. And when good writers such as Neil Gaiman and Sherrilyn Kenyon are able to use the reader’s knowledge of mythology to weave a completely new story, you’re assured of quite a few hours of riveted reading. When I was in high school, my sister used to bring borrowed Sandman graphic novels home but I never read through them since in my intellectually snobbish days I just thought of them as “comics”. It was only when I started working for a publishing company and a colleague lent me her copy of American Gods that I discovered the appeal of Neil Gaiman. For a few hours, he draws you into a world so unlike your own that you find yourself both repulsed and fascinated by it. These are worlds you like to visit and explore but are glad you can leave after putting the book down. He’s the kind of writer I want to sit down with and talk shop over a cup of coffee. I’d love to get the chance to pick his brain, literally, and wade through it’s dark, twisted mess. And who wouldn’t? This is a guy after all whose book is prefaced by someone who says people become writers for the opportunity to become god makers.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What dreams may come at Lee sew junkie.

meta

