Hello, I’m socially inept

July 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

A few days ago, a friend and I were discussing the merits of social networking sites. Actually, he was just asking whether Twitter was really that effective or not. It came down to just who the hell is interested about whether you had breakfast or not? Or how you nicked your thumb while slicing vegetables for your salad dinner. It made me think of this episode in Criminal Minds where the serial killer “hunted” on sites like Facebook. Because some women love to overshare and tend to post minute-by-minute status updates, this guy was able to track down and stalk in real life the women he eventually killed. As someone who’s a bit of a hermit, the net has been a godsend. I can keep in touch with friends while not having to be physically with them. I update my status regularly and am very pleased when people make comments. It makes me believe I’m an active member of society. But on nights like this when normal people are out living it up in the real world, the self-deceit of all this comes crashing down on me like Coyote’s ever present anvil. Maybe in the few minutes a friend chats with you online you feel a sense of community, you feel that someone’s actually keeping you company. But as the hours stretch and that green available dot turns idle orange, you realize that the world and people are out there leaving you behind and alone.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello, I’m socially inept at Lee sew junkie.

meta

