News to me

January 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve been sick since the holidays and the bug has not quite left me yet. The one good thing about it has been realizing that I hate being sick and I’d rather do things than lay back and be sick. So here are just a few things I’ve learned in my “idle” time:

Sewing on a zipper and following a pattern

Interfacing and the value of keeping a flat iron within arm’s reach while sewing

How to make a zipped pouch and making my future wallets more awesome

And lastly, how sewing is a little like engineering, you have to know the strength of your materials and which ones go together and which ones just don’t work. I broke my first sewing machine needle trying to sew four pieces of interfaced canvas together πŸ˜€ Also, why it’s important to have extras in store in case your experimentation doesn’t quite work out.

P.S.

It’s tutorial day! Watch this space πŸ™‚

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading News to me at Lee sew junkie.

meta

