Dining room DIY

February 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

You could say I got into DIY out of sheer envy. I moved into my flat with no furniture. My friends know I’m not exaggerating here, we had to sit on the kitchen counters when they’d visit. I’d walk by a The One or Selva window display and want everything in it, from the ridiculously oversized armchairs to the dust-gatherer-potential decorative balls. Since I would have to pawn my soul to be able to buy any of those things, I decided to beg for/buy cheap stuff and “make” them into the things I want. Well this hasn’t quite worked out (as my half-sawn baseboard side table would prove to you) but somehow or another my house is actually starting to look the way I want it to. My biggest issue now are my walls. They look empty. First, because I am very reluctant to drill into them; and second, I keep having daydreams of how the wall fairies would come in the night and I’d wake up to beautifully painted and decorated walls. HAH. Anyhoo, I keep trawling the net for wall decoration ideas and found this new object of envy. I’m not sure whether it’s the rich shade of violet she’s used or the fact that she used mirrors from dollar-store hooks that got me, but I love this. I’ll let Main SarahJane tell you how she did it at very little cost. There’s a plastic cup lighting fixture in there too that you might want to take a closer look at.   

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dining room DIY at Lee sew junkie.

meta

