Toby’s new pad

February 3, 2012 § 2 Comments

My friend gives names to inanimate objects. Just putting it out there. Toby is Meagan’s iPad. Originally I had just planned an update on the gadget organizer I made earlier but I came upon a beautiful piece of lace and an idea for a bag handle that I just couldn’t pass up. Besides, my last project was very butch, even for me, so it’s time for something pretty. Here’s what I used.

Check out the A Gift for Vida post for specs and how-to for the organizer. I just made a slight revision, after all we learn from our mistakes.

As I found out, felt doesn’t unravel. I didn’t need to hem in the seams (sheesh, noob). Also, pins can only pin so so much material together. Luckily I found these cutesy mini clothespins and they do the job pretty well. On to the carry-all.

Cut two pieces of fabric, 30 inches X 15 inches. I used cotton canvas for the outer fabric and a very lightweight cotton for the inner fabric. Since my main piece for the outer layer of the bag was this beautiful scrap of lace, I decided to leave that as it was and chose a grey, black, and white distressed rose print fabric for the inner one. You’ll have to cut a hole for the handles on top. I made mine 6 inches wide and 6 inches high. Sew in the seams of this “hole”. I kept my seams about a quarter inch wide. When that’s done, put the wrong sides of both fabrics together and sew the edges.

This was almost a disaster for me because I remembered to keep those seams I sewed earlier open at the last minute for the handles to go through.

Now for the pretty part. Let me introduce you to my new best friend.

Oh Satwa, is there nothing that can’t be found in you? I found out about fabric glue just a couple of days earlier and it was right there on the first shop I visited. It’s great for stuff you’d otherwise have a difficult time sewing on to your projects. I used it to cover up the rough edges of the lace with satin ribbon. You should leave it to dry for sometime so I took this as my cue to go to bed. And then I woke up to this:

Yay! Now only the handle/ribbon is left. Meagan has a tendency to hang her bags over her arm so I wanted the handle to be short enough to do that but still be adjustable in case she needed a longer handle for some reason. I cut a strip of medium weight cotton about 45 inches long and 1.5 inches wide and made a strap/ribbon type thing (yes, very technical indeed!). I originally thought of using a light cotton jersey but then I realized this thing had to be strong enough to handle (no pun intended) an iPad, wallet, mobile and various odds and ends that could most probably weight about a kilo or more.

Put this carefully through the holes you’ve made, tie the ends in a ribbon, and ta-dah!

Vewy pwetty and functional to boot! You know you’re on to something good when you can’t help but grin like an idiot as you work and really like what you are able to make. Have a happy weekend peeps! Me and my hem gauge are going to be quite busy churning out OriginaLees.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Toby’s new pad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Toby’s new pad at Lee sew junkie.

meta

