My mama’s flan

February 4, 2012 § 4 Comments

Today was crazy bag making day, slowly ticking off the items on my must-make list. I made this:

 

Modesty Fashion has the tute for this Anthropologie inspired bag on Cut Out and Keep. Then I also made the final version of the practice bag I made last week, adding oversized rivets this time.

While deciding what handle to make for this one, I’m taking a break to enjoy Number One on my long list of comfort foods: leche flan, the kind my mama used to make. When I was a kid, she’d make leche flan for very special occasions and upon my very persistent request. While I’ve learned to make it myself, it makes me miss home and family so much I avoid making it unless I’m seriously homesick – which for no apparent reason I am right now. So here’s my mama’s surefire recipe for joy:

1 can condensed milk (I used a 395g can)

1 condensed milk can of water

4 egg yolks

That’s it. Mix together till smooth, strain into a steamable container. Steam for about 15 minutes, let cool, refrigerate for an hour or two (or until you can’t control yourself any longer) and enjoy a little sweet taste of home.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to My mama’s flan

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My mama’s flan at Lee sew junkie.

meta

