Dealing with anger . . . semi-constructively

February 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve replaced anger with my crafting . . . or so I thought. But just like the first days of a diet or quitting cigarettes, you get good days and then you have a bad day like today when I knew only taking something apart would keep me from homicide. Enter my ugly-ass side table:

I really shouldn’t speak ill of something I got for free from a vendor at a flea market who didn’t want to take it back home after all her wares had been sold. But let’s face it, it’s ugly. A friend, seeing it for the first time, said, “How lazy do you have to be to make a table like that?” Anyhoo, as you can see, I have attempted to do something with it.

I started sawing it again but it was too little pay off for the mood I was in so I decided to call another good friend:

This is my gun tacker. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.

Considering that I got this and two huge boxes of staples for AED 20 (about $5) this thing’s pretty hardcore and should see me through the other re-upholstery jobs I’ve got waiting in the sidelines. Also, Vida had given me some cast-off canvas from a painting that never happened:

So I tacked away to my heart’s content. This was somehow very satisfying. I recommend it, second only to a full day of treatments and massages at a spa. And more productive than popping bubble wrap.  I had no plan whatsoever what I was going to do with it, but I thought if I was to have an  unfinished project lying around it might as well be literally a blank canvas.

I started to do a bit of decoupage on it but by this time my anger had run out of steam somewhat and I’m happy to let it be for a while until I decide what to do with this really. Yes, that’s a dish-washing sponge I’m using instead of a proper sponge brush, I do have one but it’s too small and frail, I’m sure it’s only good for projects no bigger than cuff links. This one’s up for suggestions. I thought I’d write one of my poems on it (yes, I was a poet in a past life) but I’ don’t have paint or pens; or make a patchwork of my scrap fabrics (most likely to happen). No, I can’t draw to save my life. Any other suggestions welcome 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dealing with anger . . . semi-constructively at Lee sew junkie.

meta

