First cardi (and garment) from scratch

February 25, 2012 § 2 Comments

My friend and I have been looking forward to this weekend since December. And while we thought we were all set to see James Morrison, we hadn’t planned on Dubai’s unseasonably (and unreasonably) cold February. Since in my newfound ready-to-wear garment snobbiness (oh all right, just being downright cheap) I had not bought a new jacket, I really needed to make something warm for me to wear to see James. Β I found so many ideas on the internet that I ended up working at four things at the same time. Hey, a girl’s gotta be able to choose what she’s gonna wear, right?

So you’ve seen the first one, the drapey cardigan. I took it out on a test run, and while it garnered me a lot of interest (and “orders,” I have now become a Salvation Army of sorts with old shirts from people requesting me to make it for them), it did not keep me warm at all. Enter the Billy Cardigan tutorial. I looked at this and thought, I can do that. And surprisingly, I did πŸ™‚

Yes, from scratch! I just used a favorite sweater as a “pattern” and ta-dah, 2-hour cardigan. Do you know how awesome it is to make something in two hours and go out with it immediately after?

I look kinda touched in the head in the picture, but hey, I was warm and toasty in my first garment making success and high on good music and my 5th pint of beer πŸ˜€ you can excuse me, right?

Since I didn’t have a pin, I MacGyvered one with a scrap of felt and a safety pin πŸ˜€

And yes, I’m using the wrong side of fleece as the right side, but you won’t call the technicality police on me, will you?

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to First cardi (and garment) from scratch

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First cardi (and garment) from scratch at Lee sew junkie.

meta

